At 630 feet in altitude, spread over nearly 2500 acres at the base of the Cabris hill, lies the town of Peymeinade. Here, the good life can be enjoyed in town, on the ski slopes just 45 kilometers away, or on the beaches of the Mediterranean just 25 minutes south.
The town of Peymeinade did not become independent until 1868; it had, before that time, been considered part of Cabris. It was only in the early 13th century that a handful of Cabris inhabitants began to permanently reside down the hill, in homes built upon a small knoll at the foot of the larger hill of Cabris.
In 1701, the toponym “hamlet of Peymeinade” appeared on the land registers. It is this little knoll which gave Peymeinade its name: “Pey,” meaning knoll or hill, and “Meinade,” meaning small child.
The town stretches nearly four kilometers southward to the Siagne River and the village of Auribeau, over hills and small valleys. It is crossed by the main road to Grasse, the former Chemin Royal, which delimits a variety of terrain.
To the north of the main road lies the old village and the Saint-Roch Church, built in 1724. There, on the small square, visitors discover a house façade decorated with trompe l’oeil artwork, along with wells and cisterns once used for stocking water and keeping it cool. The wash-houses and fountains which were once fed by the Siagne are today supplied by the Belletrud canal. The women of the town met here to hold the “bugado,” a large laundry gathering resembling a festival and lasting several days. A charming, picturesque, and peaceful walk along the Siagne canal leads afternoon strollers through the hamlets of Jacourets and Jaïsous, where a “soupe au pistou” event is held each year of a sultry July evening.
Along the main road, which has become the central avenue of the modern village, lie 110 small businesses, four schools, a secondary school, a swimming pool, and a major sports complex. There is also the diminutive Saint Mark chapel, erected in 1860, honoring the patron saint of vineyards and wheat. The chapel’s interior is decorated with more modern wall frescos dating from 1979.
To the south of the boulevard lies the Candéou (large hill) quarter, dotted with cork oaks and crossed by a restricted-access forest road leading to Auribeau.
In the summertime, the splendid pine forest known as “Daudet Park” serves as a natural backdrop for all the summer arts performances, including outdoor movie screenings and the jazz festival, “Jazz in’ Peymeinade,” held on three consecutive evenings in July. On the first weekend in August, Peymeinade holds a very popular aioli celebration (a Provencal garlic-based specialty) to honor the town’s patron saint, Saint-Roch, the former French noble known in Christian tradition as the guardian of the plague-afflicted.
Office de Tourisme
Place du Centenaire
Tel. 04 93 66 19 19
Fax. 04 93 66 44 60